365 Days makes 1 Year!

Happy Anniversary to my boyfriend & I.

030
Last weekend.

It seems like so much has changed since last October when Abe & I started dating, and I guess that’s because it has. So much has changed since he came into my life. Let’s recap.

June 2013, Myka reluctantly attends a wedding for her sister-in-laws brother.
A wedding, that I had been looking forward to for quite some time but didn’t think I could handle because my little heart was broken. The trip ending up being one of the best trips of my life. Not only did I have my first meal from a food truck, bond with my brother and (now) sister-in-law to be, take countless beautiful photographs, & share in the Fairytale of a very good friend of mine — I also met Abe. Very unexpectedly, I might add. My brother’s girlfriend (now fiance) Liz knew how hard it was for me to be around all of the wedding madness, so she did her very best to make light of every situation — including the rehearsal dinner we somehow managed to attend (which is not normal since we were not in the wedding party).
“I found your man,” she said.
I can still remember that moment like it was yesterday. I turned around and saw who I now know was Abe walking down the aisle. “Rob Dyrdek,”  she giggled. He really did look like Rob Dyrdek. All of a sudden I wasn’t sad anymore. I was crazy interested (like a 12 year old at her crushes little league baseball game). I knew I had to say something, I mean, what could it hurt. Timeout: He has a girlfriend?! The overwhelming sadness returned. My hope was shattered. My dream was doomed. But then I had some Captain Morgan and “Hi! Has anybody ever told you that you look like Rob Dyrdek…”

031

The rest, as they say, is history …
Oh, just kidding! Back to the girlfriend. Abe had a girlfriend, so aside from a friendly game of corn hole at the local bar, and a photograph, nothing was exchanged between us that weekend (darn).

068

Fast forward a few months, September 1st to be exact, to when my sister-in-law was visiting my parents and dropped the bomb that Abe was (somehow, by the grace of God I swear) single.

Whaaaaat.

Ima have to get right on that.
And I did.
NOW, the rest is history! A few (hundred) texts, telephone calls, and a couple visits later he was mine. And, thankfully, to this day he somehow still is.

051
The first weekend.

Since we’ve met I have left behind the broken heart I was carrying around, gained over twenty (healthy) pounds, quit my job, left my parents and my best childhood friends to move out of state closer to him, got a job, lost the job, got another job, seen countless football games, got my own apartment, used a crockpot and so much more. I’ve become the best version of myself with this man (most of the time) and am so very grateful for the life I have been lucky enough to live over the course of the past 365 days.

To celebrate our first year, Abe brought me flowers and together we had dinner at PF Changs.

001
PF Changs.

It’s almost embarrassing how mushy this came to be, gross.

I miss you all!
.xo.

Leave a Reply

