Re-Evaluate.

What happens when everything that you know comes to an end? Fortunately, I do not know the answer to that.

Last week — no! Two weeks ago now (my goodness!) I thought I did. Somehow, in a sequence of very unfortunate and ridiculously one sided events, I lost my job. Whaaaat. Bills to pay. No income. No leads. Freakin’ awesome! Oh I was (still am, to an extent) a hott ass mess. BUT Look at me now — I’m still here typing away, breathing, getting on with my life. What I learned in the recent past is that you can have it all, you just can’t have it all at once. I may have lost my source of income which proved to be extremely stressful, and tear filled, but I still have my friends, my family, my brain, my ambition .. my life.

So here’s to that!

Thankfully after filling out over a dozen applications for employment (can we just take a moment to think about how dreadful job applications are) I got a job as a cashier at a local grocery store, and two interviews for full-time work (cross your fingers — results Friday) so I can breathe again and reduce my crying episodes (what a waste of makeup those were, sheesh). Is cashiering the ideal career? The bread winning job? Will it get me the Pinterest life I have built? Heck no, but it will keep my belly full and my lights on and girrrrl that is plenty after the scare I had (disclaimer: my parents, my family, my friends, Abe .. nobody would have let me starve or freeze. But at 25 nobody wants to depend on their peers. it’s quite depressing, and degrading).

It’s important that I reiterate, hindsight is 20/20. I would not have been able to write this message a couple of weeks ago. In the depths of a struggle all things look 100x worse than they actually are. I was sure my life, as I know it, was over. I thought that I was doomed. Back to the valley, to my parents rent-free home, away from the little home I created here in Reno. I was sure that is where my life was headed. Luckily, that was not the case, it was just the hormones and the terror.

I guess the hard lesson learned here is: Whenever you get knocked down, you really must cling to the hope filled cliches and get back up again. The only way to move forward is one step at a time, don’t forget that in the midst of any terror or horror or hiccup you may face in your future. One little step, or scoot, at a time. I love you & wish you the best in all of your endeavors, but I am not so naive to think that my wish for you will come completely true. You will struggle, and you may even fail, but so long as you’re my friend, you will not fall flat alone!

Thank you for everything lately, y’all already know!

.xo.

Leave a Reply

