A new day.

“Don’t let yesterday use up too much of today.” 

015
Sunrise

A difficult task for such a simple statement. “Don’t let yesterday use up too much of today.” Leave your troubles behind you, so to speak. Let bygones be bygones. And all of those other cliches that help us forge ahead. They’re all so much easier said than done. It’s nearly impossible to wake up everyday with a clean slate. Usually, a fresh start only comes at the very beginning of the year. The socially acceptable concept of a New Years Resolution tends to be the most common form of “out with the old, in with the new.” On rare occasions, heading in a different direction begins on the first of a month, the start of a season, or after a monumental change. But when I woke up this morning (although there wasn’t anything I was anxious to leave behind) I realized how amazing each and every new day actually is.The gorgeous sunrise just beyond my balcony probably helped, so I’ll send a big thank you out to Mother Nature, or God, or whoever you believe was responsible for that.

The sunrise happens each morning signifying the start of what human beings have deemed a new day. It doesn’t bring with it the storm that raged the day before, or the clouds that covered the moon last night. The sun continues to rise and shine as it has day in and day out for countless years despite the hardships and tragedies it may have highlighted just days before. I know this probably sounds kind of odd, but I think we can all learn a little something from that. We should be more like the sun, and less like a history book. Let our words relieve us of our daily struggles. Let venting to our friends and venting about our friends clear our slates. Let’s not relive each tragedy until it’s tired. Let’s not repeatedly wage the same wars. Let’s not wait for January 1st, or next Monday, or Midnight to let go. Let’s begin everyday as if this is the day we shall be remembered. As if the past is gone and the future isn’t here yet. Let’s tackle what we can, and not stress about those things we cannot get to. The sun doesn’t apologize for its increased absence come the winter months. We’ve grown to accept that some days just contain more light and heat than others. Why can’t we be as forgiving with ourselves? Why do we have to carry forward with us all of the worries we’ve faced in the past, and the irrational fear over all of the troubles we may face in the future?

The truth is, I don’t know. I’m usually terrible at this. If there was a stress chart, I would probably break it. But not today. Today just feels … different. It feels new, and maybe that’s because it is. Or maybe it’s because I decided to embrace what is and release what is not. Possibly it’s because I had a caffinated beverage yesterday, or because I got over 9 hours of sleep the day before. Or maybe it’s because there is now less than one month remaining before I finally start my job! PAYCHECK. Hallelujah. I – CAN – HARDLY – WAIT. But whatever it is is not important. What is important is that it occurred.

I know that creating a true clean slate each day is impossible, or maybe not impossible but it is amnesia, and there aren’t many of us suffering from that. The idea isn’t to forget everything we’ve been through or ignore all the things we may one day face. I am a firm believer in the “you can’t forget where you came from,” philosophy. The idea here is simply that we should work on not letting all of yesterday’s minute troubles overshadow the beauty of today. And if you can’t do that, I hope that this, or my other words, can help you. After all, they’re what have helped me.

.xo.

Leave a Reply

