Baby steps are steps, too.

Hello! (waves crab claws)

image
1st day!

It’s Thursday, January 15, 2015. 6PM. East coast time. I’m not sure when I will be able to post this but I thought it was time to write and do not have my laptop with me so I’m frantically and exceptionally poorly typing this onto my iPhone notepad.

image
Sunrise

First of all — I MADE IT! I don’t want to go so far as to say the anxiety was a waste of time, but my life 2,604 miles away hasn’t been as terrible as I thought it might have been. Fortunately, there are quite a few people in my training group who are staying at the same hotel as me since they are also from out of town; which has made eating dinner more enjoyable and less like a chore. I remember complaning when I trained with my previous employer about having to share a room with somebody I had never met –for 6 days– but being here alone in this room all evening (after dinner, of course) has also been kind of tough. I think that’s partly due to the time change, though. All of my friends back home are still at work when I’m ready to relax and chat, or vent. LOL

image
Training week!

Anyway, as for the fun and training, things have been pretty enjoyable in those avenues, too. The first few days posed a bit of a problem staying awake. I’m not sure if it was the jet lag or the presenters, though. HA! Last night I had my first Crab Cake, I heard this was a must when visiting Maryland. A large group of us from my training class went together. I am very thankful for the experience but the crab cake wasn’t my favorite. I haven’t visited DC yet, as we need a full day to experience all of that. The plan is to head out that way on Saturday. I cannot wait!!! Being a huge fan of Scandal has made my urge to see the capital that much stronger. #TeamFitzimage

CrabCakes!
CrabCakes!

Although I am very busy, and entertained, out here I do miss Abe and Zero a whole bunch. I haven’t cried yet, though. Except at the airport terminal when I said goodbye (but maybe we can cut my some slack since it was 5am). And I must admit that I have called my parents every. single. day. Only daughter & baby girl syndrome. Whoopsie!

I try to find a lesson in ev

erything that I write, it’s the therapeutic part for me. So I better get to it. — I won’t set myself up for failure and try to “learn” not to let myself worry before a big life event, or change, but what I will say I can take away from this experience is how amazing leaving your comfort zone can actually be. In the midst of all of the confusion and fear and strain of being away, I have actually (so far) very much enjoyed myself. I am proud of the fact that I am in a new place, with new people, facing new things. I have embraced the incredible world we’re blessed to be a part of, and I encourage you to really get out there and see it, too. Since being here, I’ve began creating a list of all of the (other) places I want to visit. I used to never want to go anywhere except home. But now that I’ve been out, I’m willing and (almost) ready to flee! I guess what they say is true; that first step really is the farthest one.

image goodnight.

.xo.

Leave a Reply

