Take for Granted.

To “take for granted” has a definition. Which took me by surprise, since it is a phrase, and not a single word. That already gives this blog a good start. Oh how I love a well rounded, solid definition. Words make me way. too. happy.

Take for granted:
fail to properly appreciate (someone or something), especially as a result of overfamiliarity.

Ahh. Something we do day in and day out, likely with every step that we take.
Something I am going to try my very hardest not to do anymore.
Life is too beautiful to live with such despair. There are much worse things than those on our path, I can guarantee you of that. Or at least I intend to with the rant that follows.

Where should I begin?
If you have been reading my blog for any length of time now, you know that I’m crazy. Haha, just kidding. You know that I wasn’t feeling well for quite a while. I don’t know what happened, exactly, but I can promise you it was terrifying, uncomfortable, and hard. I had the least appetite I’ve ever had in my life, and when I did eat – I felt so unsettled it made me nauseous. I wasn’t even drinking the water I allot for myself each day. It was a very trying few – weeks? months? I lost track of time. It’s all a blur now, but just a few weeks ago it was my reality. I missed food. I missed indulging in chocolate every afternoon at my desk. I missed working out hard – something you can’t do when you aren’t eating properly. I missed waffles, and potatoes, and dashing out for lunch each day. It was a very scary experience, but one that I am grateful for – in hindsight. It’s weird how we can take something so mundane for granted. Can a necessity be taken for granted? I think so, now.

Carrying on – next we’ll go with my car.
Another thing, if you’ve been reading along, you are (all too) familiar with by now is the fact that my car broke! I don’t know what the heck happened to it, either, but over Christmas break it took a big ol shit on me when I was back home visiting my family. I wasn’t able to drive it home, and once I made it back to Nevada – my parents told me all of the warning lights disappeared. The car had fixed itself. Which was great – and cheap! HA! However, since we have had the winter of the century in Nevada, I wasn’t able to go back to California to pick it up for FIVE WEEKS. I wasn’t too put out, because my brother had a car he let me borrow, but still – being without your own car for 5 weeks – the first 5 weeks of the year, I might add – isn’t an easy task.
Fast forward a week & a half after I got my car back and picture me re-devastated. Humph. On my way home for lunch one day, my check engine light came on and my car barely puttered home. My sister in law had to come pick me up (luckily she was working from home that day) and put me back in her loaner.  It was pouring down rain, I might add. The next day, I had to get my car towed to the dealership. I have it back now, and am praying things are finally fixed. There hasn’t been a single time I’ve gotten into my car – since the tow – that I haven’t been thankful. I pass people at the bus stops in this city every day, and didn’t realize how lucky I was that I didn’t have to be standing there – in the rain, the snow, the wind or the sun. Having a functioning car is a privilege, not a right. Consider me grateful.

Where to next? The toilet?
Awkward? Yeah. Well, Wednesday morning proved a little trying for me this week, as my toilet almost overflowed. To be quite honest, I’m not sure how it didn’t. I never watch it, but for some reason that morning I did – and even though I was half asleep, I knew something wasn’t right. Quick thinking on my part, I shut the water off at the wall (thanks Dad) and avoided a tragedy. However, it was still broken. Somehow, I found a lick of patience and managed to figure out how to fix it. Moral of this story? A flushing toilet isn’t guaranteed. Count your blessings, y’all.

These are 3 examples of things I’ve had to deal with lately in my personal life. I know to some, they probably seem very trivial, and maybe even pathetic. There are people battling cancer, for God’s sake. People losing children. Someone going off to war, or boot camp, or overseas. There are starving kids in Africa, and refugees fleeing foreign countries. I understand the magnitude of these issues, and how silly I look in comparison – I promise.
But the truth of the matter is, despite the fact that I am not dealing with cancer, or an ill child, and I’m not a refugee, doesn’t mean I don’t hurt, too.

The things I talked about, although small 0n a grand scale, woke me up to the wonderful life I’ve been given. I have been in a really great mindset lately because of the perspective these hiccups provided me. I can eat. I can use my restroom. I can travel wherever I want in a car I am comfortable in. I have been working out, and gaining my weight back. I never thought something as simple as driving my own car to work, or eating lunch, or doing 30 pushups would color my glasses rosy – but they have. I am a different person than I was a few weeks ago. I’m happy to be busy at work. I’ve worked 2 9+ hour days in the last week, willingly. I look forward to waking up every day. I don’t mind when people are too busy for me, or get mad over petty things. This is MY life, and I’m finally in love with every minute of it.

I challenge you to take a step back & a fresh look around. Find beauty in the simple pieces of your life. Your favorite pillow. The cell phone that keeps you in touch with people you can’t see often, or ever at all. Coffee. and Chocolate. and ice cream. Your bedroom. The roof over your head. Your car out in the garage. The ability to see, and smell, and hear, and stretch. The kiss you got this morning, or the hug you got last night. Your clean clothes, and the dryer you pulled them out of. Your ability to write so beautifully, or read what other people have to say.  Your exhausting job. The blow dryer for your hair. Your free underwear. That freckle you’ve always hated. Your cat, or dog, and brothers & sisters.

We should take it all in, instead of for grated.

.xo.

PS. I didn’t talk about romance once, Paul.

One thought on “Take for Granted.

Leave a Reply

