Fate.

I don’t have any tattoos, but if I ever got one I think it would read: fate.
I have always believed in fate. Normally, I think people turn to fate when unexplainable things happen – the good things. Prince Charming shows up, unexpectedly. The girl who’s doctors swore she couldn’t have children gets pregnant. You leave 15 minutes late because you lost your keys, and miss a head on collision on your route to work. But for me, fate has been different. Fate has always helped me deal with the things I faced that I didn’t necessarily want to; that I wasn’t ready for. I chuck all of the bad moments I live through up to fate; fate takes things from me to make way for better things to come. Fate breaks my heart so my husband can put it back together. Fate keeps me safe. & sane. 

Today, I’m on the other side of the coin. The common side. The side where fate is shiny, shimmery, splendid. We have had (are having) the harshest winter in yearrrrs around here. There have been torrential amounts of snowfall over the Pass to California nearly every weekend. Our snowpack is over 200% of average. It’s insanity. Yet his weekend, no storms were forecasted. Hm.

After work on Friday, I had a hair appointment. I was chatting with my hair gal about her new baby, and of course we started to talk about Olivia – my niece who’s due in March. After the appointment, I had to get gas & then I was headed to grab some Chinese food. I’ve been running out of my meal prep before the week ends, and I needed something for dinner. Panda Express won. On my way there, I got a call form my brother. I almost didn’t answer because I was driving, but I’m glad I did. My sister in law was admitted to the hospital, and was likely going to be induced for early labor – W.H.A.T !!! EEP. I almost jumped out of my skin. I don’t know if I was more scared, or excited. Fast Forward to Saturday night at 10:41PM, and little Olivia Rae graced the world with her presence.

Had it been any other weekend, I would have been stranded on the East side of the treacherous Sierra Nevada mountains. But she came the one weekend I could make it over to see her. & so I did. I woke up at 5:55 this morning, went to buy her a cupcake, and headed out on my way. I packed a bag in case I decided to stay overnight, but she needs her parents right now & they need the space to be there for her, so I turned around and came home, and snuggling her for about 4 hours. and going out with my brother to grab lunch. I can hardly believe that today actually happened. It feels too much like a fairytale to be real. Maybe it isn’t my fairytale, but it’s a fairytale none the less. Since 2014, my brother has been living a Nicholas Sparks movie (minus the heart wrenching tragedy). Engagement, Wedding, New house, New truck & now – a new baby. His life is an inspiration to me. Just when I don’t think it’s ever going to happen for me, one look at his life has me thinking again.

We must keep on dreaming, dreamers.

.xo.

2 thoughts on “Fate.

Leave a Reply

