“International Women’s Day”

I hope nobody skips over this because of the title. This isn’t a typical “I am woman, hear me roar!” post. I hope nobody regrets reading this because it isn’t that, either.  

I was scrolling through posts on Instagram today, and I came across quite a few “International Women’s Day” references. Which, on one hand, is awesome. I’m glad people are becoming aware of how important women are to the planet. As mothers, sisters, doctors, friends, wives, dancers, actresses, and so on. However, I also think it’s quite silly. We have days for ev-er-y-thing now. Donut day, Pancake day, Women’s Day, Black History Month, Father’s Day, Mother’s Day, Birthday oh. Well, that one makes sense.

I don’t get it.

Why don’t we celebrate great people and wonderful things every day? Why do we have one day, more important than any other day, dedicated to something in particular? Why do women only have one day? Why do father’s only have one day? Why do donuts & pancakes & icees only get one day? I think what irks me most is that people show a TON of care for these things for 24 hours, then pretend they aren’t issues or gems after the day has passed. Things deserve recognition everyday, not just not the specific day someone (and um who?!) has deemed “International _____ Day”

Celebrate everything, every day people. Life is short. and life is meant to be enjoyed.

.xo.

 

5 thoughts on ““International Women’s Day”

  1. Preach. I feel the same way. The one that bothers me is Thanksgiving, when everyone all of a sudden feels thankful. Why can’t they be thankful in May or January? All these other made up holidays are getting tiresome, even though I like to celebrate donuts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol, I knew I liked you. We can celebrate donuts daily, Paul. You & I. Oh, I can’t believe I forgot to rant a bit about Holidays. Valentines could have fit in nicely, too. Don’t love me only when the world says you should. #ugh.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

